Stark Library traces its roots to the Spread Eagle Tavern, owned by James W. Lathrop, who assembled a collection of 30 books in 1816. The library moved several times from those humble beginnings, and officially became the Canton Public Library in 1884. It took up residence in the Carnegie building on 3rd Street South in 1905. A stunning example of Beaux Arts Classicism, the building is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Canton Public Library became the Stark County District Library in 1971, reflecting its service to much of Stark County. Then, the library moved into its current building in 1978. The site was once William McKinley's house, and was the scene of his 1896 front porch campaign for President of the United States. The building was renovated to reflect its current configuration in 2001. The Stark Country District Library now has 10 branches throughout the county that serve their unique communities.